All children are at risk for lead poisoning. Gloucester County Department of Health offers free blood lead testing for any child age 1 to 6 years. Call 856-218-4127 to make an appointment.
Municipal Lead Law Information
The Gloucester County Health Department staff conduct childhood lead poisoning investigations alongside public health nurses to determine contributing factors to the lead poisoning in children ages 0-72 months within and around residential properties. If you are concerned about your child’s exposure to lead, contact your local pediatrician and have him or her tested.
As per: New Jersey Regulation NJAC 8:51:
All children should be tested at both 12 and 24 months of age
Any child 25 to 72 months (less than 6 years) of age who has never previously been tested
Any child up to 72 months of age who has been exposed to a known or suspected source of lead
Please see the links below for additional, valuable information.
The Health Department conducts lead inspections in response to elevated blood lead levels for children only. We copy the municipal Construction Official on our inspection findings for reference.
New Jersey Department of Community Affairs (NJDCA) regulations require municipalities to monitor and conduct lead assessments/inspections for rental properties.
Please address specific program concerns with NJDCA.
New Jersey has taken steps to remove or reduce harmful lead exposures. Many of these measures rely on attention and action by administrators at the municipal level. Provided below is Fact Sheet to assist municipalities and residents.