Many historical records are recorded in the County Clerk's Office dating back to 1686, the year that Gloucester County was incorporated. In fact, the deed of the first property purchased by the United States Government dated July 5, 1776 is one of the documents on record here along with other countless recordings that affect real estate title. These records include deeds, mortgages, judgments, and other land attachments. Therefore, "Keeper of the Records" is an appropriate description of the Clerk who spends 60% of his time recording and filing important papers on the behalf of Gloucester County citizens.
How Records are Kept
Please read an article about how records are kept in Gloucester County on the Philadelphia Inquirer website.
Effective May 1, 2017 all paper land recordings must be accompanied by a paper cover sheet or a $20 indexing fee will be assessed per New Jersey Statutes Annotated 46:26A-5. View Gloucester County Clerk’s cover sheet (PDF).
The Data Recording Page must be submitted in the following format:
- Standard legal-sized paper (8 1/2 by 14 inch)
- Do not modify or alter the Data Recording Page
- Record Room Research & Genealogy Guidelines and Rules
- Land Records Manual: A History of the Mechanics of Recordation
Property Fraud Alert
In an effort to reduce the risk of real estate fraud, the County Clerk's Office has launched a free Property Fraud Alert website for homeowners to register to receive notification each time a document is registered in their name.
Daniel's Law Portal
In November 2020, Governor Murphy signed Daniel’s Law, which amended the Open Public Records Act (OPRA) and other statutes protecting personal information for certain persons in public service. Specifically, Daniel’s Law is designed to expand protections from public exposure for personal information about active and retired judges, law enforcement officers, and prosecutors, and their immediate family.
In June of 2009, the Gloucester County Clerk’s Office warned homeowners about mailings from an Illinois based company claiming to provide certified copies of homeowner’s deeds, at very high prices. At the time, this company was charging upwards of $75 a copy. Recently, the Gloucester County Clerk’s Office has received several more complaints about these types of mailings received within the County, even to County employees, charging upwards of $86 per copy.
James N. Hogan, Gloucester County Clerk, stated that “it’s an exorbitant cost to get a copy of a deed. Consumers can obtain copies of deeds at the Gloucester County Clerk’s Office for as little as 5 cents a page. To certify the copy it costs an additional $2.” Hogan added that “it’s not necessary for homeowners to get a certified copy of their deed”.
Consumers can also go to the County Clerk's online record search at www.uslandrecords.com and print out a copy of your deed for free.
The Clerk's Office is now accepting Visa, Mastercard, and Discover. All checks for $10,000 or more must be certified. Questions regarding Federal Liens contact 800-913-6050.
- Department of Environmental Protection
- Geographical Information System (GIS)
- Gloucester County Clerk's Office Records First Electronic Documents (PDF)
- Gloucester County Records Online
- Recorders Document Reference Manual Order Form
- Selling your home? Here’s how the N.J. exit tax works
Per Chapter 55 P.L. 2004 signed into law on June 30, 2004, all deeds must include one of the following forms:
- Nonresident Seller’s Tax Declaration - GIT/REP-1
- Nonresident Seller’s Tax Prepayment Receipt - GIT/REP-2
- Seller’s Residency Certification/Exemption - GIT/REP-3
- Waiver of Seller’s Filing Requirement (Corrective Deed) - GIT/REP-4A
- Waiver of Seller’s Filing Requirement - GIT/REP-4
To download these forms go to the New Jersey Division of Taxation website or call their Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400.
Certificate of Release of Certain Prohibited Covenants
Although not typically part of modern recordings, this form releases covenants per the Law Against Discrimination P.L. 1945 and C.10:5-12, at no charge to submitters effective January 2022.
As per instructions from the State of New Jersey, the County of Gloucester will not accept Vacation, Rescission, or Voiding of Assignments that have originally been signed and recorded.
Effective October 1, 2016 recorded instruments are not cross indexed by party type within the Gloucester County Clerk’s Land Records Management System.